Rain, Rain Go Away

While we get ready for some snow here in New York, the forecast for San Francisco is rain.  That could be a problem for the Giants.

New York has been very good on offense, but that is because of their passing game and not their running game.  In fact, the Giants ranked dead last in rushing yards per game with 89.2 and dead last in yards per carry with 3.5.  If the field is sloppy and the Giants are forced to run the ball, will they be able to?  I would say no and while I won’t join Jerry Rice in calling Brandon Jacobs “soft” I think Jacobs is a big part of the problem.

Jacobs’ numbers are ugly this year, but it is not entirely his fault.  I will never understand why the Giants continually try and run Jacobs outside the tackles.  This guy is listed at 6’4″ and 265 pounds, he is made to pound it through the tackles.  Bad play calling aside, Jacobs hasn’t run with the same fire and he looks like he is also running more upright than he did in the past.  Hopefully, Rice’s comments will bring some of that anger back to Big Brandon.

The Giants offensive line deserves some blame as well.  Consider the fact that Eli was sacked 16 times in 2010 and 28 in 2011. I’m not saying they should have kept O’Hara and Seubert, but they didn’t do enough to replace them.  David Baas hasn’t impressed me and the injury to Beatty hurt as well.  It’s too late to do anything about it now, but I hope Wisconsin’s Peter Konz is around when the Giants make their pick in the first round of the draft.

For now, I will sit back and hope the weather improves and the tarp stays on the field.  (Longtime Jets fans will know what I am talking about.)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • tim  On January 20, 2012 at 3:17 am

    I think I’m the last guy in the Jacobs support camp. But the last quarter of the season, he’s been good, particularly when challenged in the press (thank you Mr. Rice/Ryan). He’s finishing his runs well and generally getting good yardage after contact (but thats my eyes telling me that, I do not have stats). His last 8 games, 85 carries & 411 yrds (4.8yrds per carry) seem to back up what my eyes are seeing tho. I don’t think the Giants took advantage of his good form enough, I wanted them to give him the ball more and use Bradshaw less. If the Giants are forced to run tackle to tackle and can’t do much of the trap blocking they love to do, I have a lot of confidence that Jacobs can do the job for them.

    On the weather, baring a mudbowl scenario which is hard to believe is even possible given the state of the art draining facilities on NFL fields now, weather will have little influence on hindering the passing game, even less so given that the NFL defensive backs can’t touch receivers any more.

    What I do worry about is defensively… Teams get good push against the Giants interior & front 7 and it slows a speed pass rush when its soggy and if SF can run the ball. We know what happens to the Giants if they can’t generate a pass rush.

    Again, the Giants will win or lose with defense (I think) and wet field isn’t ideal. I believe the Giants can score on SF regardless of weather.

  • Mitchell  On January 21, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    Tim – if you’re the last guy who’s a Jacobs fan, then I must be next-to-last. Now that he’s learned to expland his field of vision and is able to bounce outside instead of trying always to run through defenders, he’s a much improved RB.

    Peter – I know I am disagreeing with you about BJ, but I think the guy *needs* to keep everyone honest by running outside the tackles whenever there’s a lane that’s open. He can’t keep bulling between Tackles, that simeply doesn’t work anymore.

    BTW – nice place you have here !!!

  • nysportsfanatic  On January 23, 2012 at 12:55 am

    Mitchell

    Glad to “see you over here!” I’m all for Jacobs bouncing it outside if he sees a hole, but I think the Giants perversely go off tackle with him while trying to run Bradshaw between the tackles.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

