Bring On The Dancing Bears!

I love the Super Bowl.  No matter what the matchup, I always watch it from start to end. Obviously, this year’s edition has an even greater hold on my interest as my beloved Giants are making their fifth trip to the big game.  Sunday can’t get here soon enough, especially because I am bored to tears by the wall-to-wall coverage of all things related to the game.

Part of it is our internet-era media. Everyone has to try and come up with a story to write or relate and that dilutes the end product.  But it’s not just that, the two weeks between the NFC and AFC Championships and the Super Bowl leaves plenty of time for small stories like Mrs. Brady’s emails to become a big deal.  Thankfully, the players have now given their last interviews before the game.  All that remains are coach press conferences tomorrow and then a game on Sunday.  Hopefully, silence and football will once again return.

*****

Personally, I am against the idea of an 18-game NFL schedule, but there is one part of the idea that I like.  Looking at the calendar, if the NFL had played 18 games over 19 weeks this past season, we would be looking forward to the AFC and NFC Championships this weekend.  That means that the Super Bowl would occur on February 19th, or the day before Presidents’ Day.  Since that is a holiday, the majority of fans would get the day following the Super Bowl off.

But, the NFL doesn’t have to expand the schedule in order to put the Super Bowl on Presidents’ Day, they could simply start the season later.  As it is now, the season starts the weekend after Labor Day.  Why is that?  By starting the season two weeks later, or one week later and adding an extra bye, the NFL could give fans something they have longed for- a day off after the Super Bowl.

Just a thought.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On February 2, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    no presidents love here, I’d be at work the next morning.

  • blmeanie  On February 3, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Gotta love that the Giants players can’t shut up. They are over-confident and angling for post-superbowl gigs (late night, endorsements)

  • nysportsfanatic  On February 3, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Wait and Tom Brady saying everyone would be back for a bigger party next week isn’t confidence?

  • blmeanie  On February 3, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I think he was referring to their annual President’s Day party he and Gisele have at the house.

  • blmeanie  On February 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    besides, your dancing bear title of the post hits a little too close for me

    • nysportsfanatic  On February 3, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      Why? Because of The Bears? I don’t think the Giants will win by 42 points on Sunday. Speaking of 42….

  • blmeanie  On February 4, 2012 at 8:20 am

    when are you going to predict?

  • blmeanie  On February 4, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    wow, bad karma for admitting that I’d say

    How about lucky underwear or something? Superstitions?

    • nysportsfanatic  On February 4, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      Almost too many to mention. No clothing, but I will be in the exact same place I was four years ago, eating the exact same food. Unfortunately, I couldn’t t convince my friend the Patriots fan to watch the game with me again. Apparently he thinks it would be bad luck!

      I will predict a lot of points. I could see 60 or so being scored tomorrow.

      Sent from my mobile

  • blmeanie  On February 4, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    ahhh a prediction of sorts…

    I think 38-34

    • nysportsfanatic  On February 4, 2012 at 9:53 pm

      I saw that. Terrible karma and I imagine a screenshot of that is posted on the Patriots locker room wall.

      Sent from my mobile

  • blmeanie  On February 4, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    I get that you can reply to individual posts within the thread, but, sure makes it harder to find what you said…

    Curtis Martin getting in is good karma for tomorrow…for my team anyway

Leave a Reply

