The Finest Day(s) in Sports

Sports has many great days during the calendar year, but I think the first two days of March Madness have to be the best. You get 16 games each day spread out over 12 hours. With CBS sining a sensible TV deal, every game is televised, though you may have to find Tru TV on your cable lineup. (TWC customers in NYC, it is channel 79 or 779 for HD)  Along the way we will see nail-biters, a few upsets and plenty of great basketball.

As for my bracket, I give you this story. In 2000 or 2001, I forget which, I nailed my bracket.  Absolutely killed it, I went from picking 15-of-16 in the Sweet Sixteen to not getting another pick wrong the rest of the tourney.  Needless to say, I won in a landslide. Two things about this story.

1- I worked in an office with about 8 people, so it wasn’t a very lucrative endeavor.

2- Since then, my brackets are usually a disaster. In fact, I usually lose one of my Final Four teams in the first round.  So take the following with a big, big grain of salt.

My FF- Michigan State, Kentucky, Wisconsin and Kansas with Michigan State winning it all over Wisconsin.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On March 15, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Never have done well in brackets. Last year I joined two, first one a freebie with a few online people I’ve never met but share a love for lakes and boating. The second at work with a modest entry fee. I intended to use the same picks for both brackets. I made a couple mistakes entering games on the lake bracket. It ended up being the winner…with no prize!

    This year’s final four picks : Kentucky, Missouri, Florida State, NC State with Kentucky beating NC State.

    Good Luck with yours.

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 15, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      NC State is a bold pick. Looking for a little of the Jimmy V magic?

      • blmeanie  On March 15, 2012 at 6:40 pm

        they have some really good players, might surprise some teams. Seed seems a little high to me.

      • nysportsfanatic  On March 15, 2012 at 8:08 pm

        Well you probably watch a lot more ACC basketball than I do, but you have to admit that’s and aggressive play. I could see them beating SDSU and G’Town. (The league I watch most of all is the Big East and I don’t think G’Town isn’t worthy of a 3) But, getting by Kansas and probably UNC will be really, really tough.

        That leads me to ask, what college program do you regularly support? You have some choices in Atlanta.

  • blmeanie  On March 15, 2012 at 11:53 am

    btw – today this site required I sign in to post a comment. I’ve never noticed whether I have been signed in to wordpress previously and the cookie went away today or whether you updated a security measure today.

  • nysportsfanatic  On March 15, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Must have been the cookie because it has always had comment security. I am adding a filter to keep pro-Boston comments off this site, but it has not been deployed yet…;-)

  • blmeanie  On March 15, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    you dare take away 3/4’s of your posts 🙂

  • blmeanie  On March 15, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    and now at home it required me to log in, never has before…

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 15, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Don’t know what to tell you, I haven’t changed a setting since I started this thing!

  • blmeanie  On March 15, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    The ACC tourney was here in Atlanta last week. Didn’t actually go to any games but listen to sports talk radio and that was the focus last weekend.

    I like Georgia, my oldest has it as one of her possible destinations. Like Tech too. Not as into college sports as everybody else down here. It is a religion and that is understating it.

    12 for 12 so far, probably just jinxed myself

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 15, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      Bl- You are right, it is a religion. I lived in Texas for a bit and it really made me appreciate what people from our neck of the woods usually don’t get.

      Hook ’em!

  • blmeanie  On March 16, 2012 at 6:29 am

    ended the day with 14 of 16 correct. From looking at others in the pools I am in it must have been an easy day of picks.

  • Mitchell  On March 16, 2012 at 9:30 am

    As long as there are no Buckeyes on this board … those folks need to be banned for life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

