The Melkman Cheateth-UPDATED

I can’t say I am shocked to hear the news that Melky Cabrera tested positive for PED use today. Having watched Melky play for the Yankees, I always thought of him as a fringe starter at best.  When he left New York and put up a line of .255/.317/.354 in Atlanta, that seemed about right to me.

But then something happened.  Last season he hit .305/.339/.470 and then this year he hit .346/.390/.516.  It was possible that he suddenly figured everything out, but it also seemed highly unlikely.  Now we know.

It will cost him millions, it will also cost him his reputation and it won’t be the last time we hear about a player getting suspended.  There are things you see in baseball if you pay attention that make you wonder what exactly is going on. Last year a player, I won’t name them because this is entirely my speculation, hit more home runs in one season than he had hit in the other six years of his career combined.  That certainly made me wonder if he had been enhancing his performance.  There was a pitcher who suddenly threw five to seven mph more than he had ever thrown before. I understand that there are outliers in the world. Certain performances come out of nowhere and shock us, but I am sad to say that in the age of PED’s I won’t be fooled again.

UPDATE Here’s a link to a very depressing article about steroid testing in baseball quoting the infamous Victor Conte. Basically, the new synthetic testosterone boosters can be flushed out of your system in 4-8 hours and don’t trigger the test that MLB normally uses.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On August 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    “hit more home runs in one season than he had hit in the other six years of his career combined.” – who?

    “There was a pitcher who suddenly threw five to seven mph more than he had ever thrown before” – who?

    We need to know…even if it is your speculation

  • blmeanie  On August 15, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    gimmee teams at least, I’m too tired to research off your clues

  • blmeanie  On August 15, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    I was going to say Josh Reddick but he hasn’t played that many years and his year is about getting the ab’s. If you are hinting that it is somebody on a team I follow then research led me to Michael Bourn but c’mon, 9 HR ain’t going to drive anybody to go pee in a cup….tell me it isn’t Bourn.

  • blmeanie  On August 15, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    you are enjoying this now…I search on cfers and came up empty

    • nysportsfanatic  On August 16, 2012 at 10:15 am

      Really? You can’t think of a CF on a team you like who hit a ton of homers last year?

  • blmeanie  On August 16, 2012 at 11:55 am

    1987 – Wade Boggs hit 24 HR in his 6th year, previous high was 8.

    2011 – Jacoby Ellsbury hit 32 HR in his 5th year, previous high was 9

    do I believe either juiced? Nope. Ellsbury payday is coming (Boras client) and in the world of overpaying baseball he didn’t need to juice it. i think having Pedroia hitting well behind him with Ortiz and Gonzalez it provided protection for Ellsbury last year and he hit the balls pitched to him. Gotta remember he also was coming back from a disaster year and missed a year of maturing as all baseball players need to do. What if 2010 were different and he progressed to hit around 20?

    I don’t see it. Now if you are looking at breakout power years 2011 was indeed the year to look at…CG for your team kinda broke his mold and it continues this year…

    • nysportsfanatic  On August 16, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      Ellsbury’s first year was 2005, so it was his 7th year. He hit 31 total from 2005-2010 and then 32 in 2011. Boggs certainly had a weird explosion of power in 1987, but don’t forget everyone did. That was the year people thought the ball was wound too tight. In 1986, 3,813 homers were hit in the bigs. In 1987, 4,458, an increase of almost 17%. It still doesn’t explain all of Boggs’ totals, but the context is different from Ellsbury’s. (Homers were down from 2010 to 2011). Again, it could mean nothing, but I find it unusual.

      You may be right about CG. Nothing would shock me at this point. But, his power isn’t as surprising. He hit 21 homers in 2004 in the minors. 30 in 2009 in Detroit and never hit less than 19 a season once he became a full-time big leaguer. I think it is fair to say he was a power hitter before 2011. Throw in the fact that he is a lefty playing in the new Yankee Stadium, and it doesn’t shock me that he hit 41 last year.

      Now, lest you think I am putting on the “homer” blinders here. I will give you a guy who I find interesting from last year’s team- Barolo Colon. Where did that performance come from considering how bad he had been since 2005? For that matter, Eric Chavez certainly looks like he ate his Wheaties this year. Read that link I added to this post and tell me based on that if you can believe anyone is clean. I know I can’t.

  • blmeanie  On August 16, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Ellsbury started in 07 with 127 ABs in 33 games, 5th year but who’s counting?

    Interesting thing about Granderson is that his splits were even last year in HR (home/away).

    I’m more amazed in that article that he was allowed in London…

  • blmeanie  On August 20, 2012 at 7:00 am

    the latest twist is funny

Leave a Reply

