2013

Happy New Year! Instead of doing predictions for the upcoming year or a recap of the previous one, I thought I would look at some questions I have for the upcoming year in sports.

January- Can Notre Dame really stay on the field with Alabama?  Maybe I am missing something, but this seems like a colossal mismatch.

February- Will we have another dark horse team win the Super Bowl? The Packers and Giants showed the advantages of being a hot team come playoff time. Well, Washington has won seven-straight and the Colts have won five-of-six.  Could one of them make it to the Super Bowl?

March- How quickly will my bracket implode? Traditionally, I lose a Final Four team before the first weekend of the tournament starts.

April- Is this the team the Yankees are going to field in 2013 or will Cashman pull off another late winter surprise?

May- How deep will the Knicks go in the playoffs?

June- Will we see the Stanley Cup this year and if not, what is the future of hockey?

July- If the Yankees aren’t really in the midst of a pennant race would Brian Cashman do the smart thing and trade away the present for a better future when the trading deadline comes around?

August- When the Giants take the field again for a game, how many new faces will be there and how many old ones will be gone?

September- How will the US Open’s decision to play the men’s final on Monday play out?

October- Who will win the World Series? I just don’t see one team that is clearly better than all the rest right now.

November- Are the Giants playoff contenders? There are plenty of questions that hang over this team right now, but the biggest one has to be how to find more consistency.

December- Will I be celebrating the final season of the BCS or cursing the powers that be for forcing me to endure this final season of its existence?

Whatever the answers, I am sure that 2013 will bring the usual array of upsets, surprises and great stories in sports. I’m really looking forward to it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On January 2, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    January have lots of ND alumni at work, they…can…play…with…Alabama…wow, I said it.

    February – is there a darker horse than Atlanta?

    March – I’ve only sniffed a chance at money once in all the years…it was a long time ago.

    April – hopefully it is the team they will field 🙂

    May – 2nd round loss

    June- only if you visit the Hall of Fame (where is it btw?)

    July – Assets to trade for value? Cano? Who else?

    Aug – big turnover my guess

    Sept- yawn, wake me when there is something exciting to say about men’s tennis

    Oct – Pittsburgh, they should bring back “We are family” too

    Nov- too early, need to see the team, see Aug above

    Dec – cursing for sure, “wait, we have to wait another year before the playoff system kicks in, really?”

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 2, 2013 at 5:43 pm

      BL- You think Atlanta is a dark horse? They are the #1 seed. (I will admit that I think SF is better in the NFC, but Atlanta getting to the Super Bowl would not shock me one bit)

      March- I picked the Final Four correctly one year in an office pool. Sadly, only seven people worked in that office.

      April- I would expect nothing less from you!

      May- Probably spot on.

      June- It’s in Toronto

      July- Hard to say at this point, but Kuroda comes to mind. Hughes if he is pitching well. Heck, Youk could have a big season and be trade bait.

      October- Pittsburgh winning the Series would be an amazing story. Vegas has them at 55-1. And if they bring back the song, they have to bring back those hats!

      December- Probably right. I can’t believe I have to watch Notre Dame play Alabama Monday. The thing is, I am not sure who the other two teams worthy of a spot in the college playoffs this year are. Georgia, Florida, Oregon, Stanford, Texas A+M could all make legitimate claims. I imagine we will still be griping in two years!

      Happy New Year!

  • Mitchell  On January 5, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    I was surprised by ND in every game of theirs. Going to be a heck of a good game with Bama.

    Jints need a little bit of everything – mostly they need healthy players.

    Michigan wins the Big 10 in ’13, you heard it hear first. BTW, I may have to root for the Pats for the next few weeks, just to thank Brady for his stellar work as a Wolverine.

    Wishing you each a great ’13 !.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 5, 2013 at 1:46 pm

      Mitchell

      I still don’t see it, but I hope you are right. Last year’s BCS game was a snoozer.

      Health is a big part of what the Giants need, they also need JPP to go back to being JPP.

      Not being a Big-10 follower, I can’t argue with you, but isn’t Michigan losing Robinson? Pats are in good shape this year as they won’t have to face the Giants in the Super Bowl.

      Happy New Year!

  • Mitchell  On January 8, 2013 at 1:21 am

    Nope, wasn’t a good game at all between the Irish and the Tide.

    And yes, Peter, Michigan is losing Denard Robinson but I think they are a better, more balanced team with Gardner at QB.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 8, 2013 at 9:17 pm

      Mitchell

      I say this with no allegiance to the SEC, but right now they are playing a different level of football than the rest of the country.

      • Mitchell  On January 9, 2013 at 1:20 am

        Zero disagreements from me Peter about the SEC. For me, the real championship game was Georgia v Bama, which was possibly the best college game of the year.

      • nysportsfanatic  On January 9, 2013 at 11:27 am

        Yup, that was an amazing game.

        I am curious to see how the playoff system will work. You could make the argument that this year three SEC teams (Bama, Georgia and Florida) could have been included. If the SEC starts consistently taking 2 or 3 spots in the playoffs, how long before the conferences vote to expand them to eight teams?

Leave a Reply

