There Will Be Puck

At 5 AM this morning the NHL and NHLPA reached a deal to end the lockout.

First off, what in the world took them so long?  Why did they wait until September to even negotiate and why did they not negotiate in earnest until December?

I don’t have a good answer for those questions, but I hope the owners realize that Gary Bettman deserves to be fired.  Under his watch, hockey has given away its opportunity to become a mainstream sport and it has suffered three HUGE work stoppages. Bettman reportedly earns over $6-million a year, I can’t begin to understand why. On the plus side, Bettman is 60 and since the new deal lasts at least eight years, this is probably his last chance to destroy hockey.

What will happen with the “Just Drop It” movement?  Assuming hockey starts around January 15th, the Rangers will have missed around 10 games after their deadline. Will the fans who signed up for their pledge follow through? (I didn’t sign.)

*****

As for football, I went 1-1 last night.  Today I am picking the Colts +7 and Washington +3. Indy has been one of the hottest teams in football and I think Baltimore is vulnerable. Washington represents a very rare thing- a home underdog in the playoffs. When you see that you take the points.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On January 6, 2013 at 11:15 am

    too much is being made of the emotional impact of Ray Lewis’ announcement. I like the Colts too with the points for sure. Washington is rolling but Seattle has been under the radar and playing very well. I think Seattle takes it.

  • blmeanie  On January 6, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    I didn’t think anybody outside of Atlanta remembers that. It put a smear on Atlanta that it happened and that they got away with it. Good article. Baseball keeps players out of the hall for suspected PED use, Ray Lewis will get in without a doubt on first day of eligibility. Scales of justice. BTW – he found Jesus I believe between the alleged killings and now.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 6, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Every time I see Ray Lewis I think of that “incident”. When I see the ads and hear the accolades for Lewis I just shake my head.

      You’re right about the HOF, it’s a shame that it will happen that way.

Leave a Reply

