Who Do You Root For?

I can usually find a team to root for in the Super Bowl, but this matchup has me perplexed.

On one hand you have the 49ers, a team the Giants have had a long and bitter rivalry with. I don’t think any Giants fan can root for them.

But on the other hand you have the Ravens, the team that humiliated the Giants in Super Bowl XXXV. That may have happened 12 years ago, but the wound is still there for me. How could I ever root for Baltimore?

It’s not that a Falcons-Patriots matchup would have excited me, but I could have found someone to root for in that matchup. I don’t like either of these teams and I am really struggling with what to do.  At this point I am seriously considering going to the movies in two weeks.

How about you Big Blue fans, where will your rooting interests lie in two weeks?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Mitchell  On January 21, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Peter – I am going to enjoy the game, it’s football so what’s not to like and it’s the last game for a LONG time (sigh).

    For whom to root? Eh, going to root for good play but if I *had* to choose one team it would probably be the Niners. Why? Don’t want to hear any more rants from Ray Lewis or see him kneeling with his butt facing the camera thanking God for his works.

    I was actually rooting for the Pats yesterday, telling myself that I was rooting for a Wolverine, but – let’s just say that that game evidenced some of the worst play calling I have ever seen from Beli-Brady.

    My sincere sympathies go out to BL – both his teams got knocked off yesterday.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 21, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Mitchell- Good point, it will be the last time to enjoy football for six months. And while I have no desire to see Ray Lewis’ buttcrack or see him celebrated anymore, I can’t root for the 49ers. Too many memories of Montana to Rice and Trey Junkin.

      I rooted for the “BL Bowl” yesterday, Atlanta and New England. I hope he won’t blame me for the losses!

  • blmeanie  On January 21, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    no blame coming. I agree with Mitchell, the Pats haven’t often lost games, they’ve been beaten many times but yesterday they LOST it. Right before half time with clock management 101 failure then mental errors in picks and fumbles and playcalling.

    Gotta root for San Fran or just watch for action and commercials…sigh…23 years here and the Braves/Sox failed me in the early and late 90’s, would have been great. Still holding out for Bruins/Thrashers though.

Leave a Reply

