Drop The Puck!

Some of you who have been paying attention to this blog have probably figured out that I am a hockey fan. Guilty as charged, I love the sport. In fact, next to baseball, I think hockey is the best sport to see in person. So, you may be wondering how I could have missed commenting on the start of the NHL season last Saturday.

The answer is, I took this idea to heart. Well, almost I guess. I don’t know exactly how many games the Rangers didn’t play as scheduled after 12/21/12, but I skipped the first five games of their 2013 schedule in retaliation. I can hear the cries now, it was an empty gesture. You are probably right, but I really have no idea what else I could do to try and send hockey a message that they have behaved insanely over the last 18 years. So, I haven’t been a part of the first five Rangers games, but I am coming on board now. (Full Disclosure- My wife, who is the biggest Rangers fan I know, didn’t join me in this boycott so I have heard a lot about the Rangers’ uninspired play despite the fact that she is a girl.)

So yes, I know the Rangers are 2-3,  Lundqvist looks ordinary and they can’t score unless the Gaborik-Richards-Nash line is out there. That’s ok, these 48 games are not about proving who is the best team, they are merely about qualifying for the playoffs. In 1995 the Rangers were the 8th seed, but knocked off the #1 seed in the first round. I would prefer they took an easier path to the playoffs, but barring injury, this team can play with anyone and that’s what matters.

43 games to go, I’ll be here for the duration.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On January 28, 2013 at 7:24 am

    welcome back, I too did not take in any local hockey games, in fact, I will boycott them the rest of this season to better make my point.

    The east will go through Boston, they look good already and have rookie of the year on their D-Line.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 28, 2013 at 12:03 pm

      BL- LOL, that’s a very good boycott you are running down in Atlanta!

      As for your prediction. You may be right, but I remember a similar prediction a few months ago about the NBA and the Atlantic Division that doesn’t look like it will work out. I think Pittsburgh, New York and Boston will finish 1-2-3 in the East.

  • blmeanie  On January 28, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    time will tell. Bruins are real deep, that will have an impact in this shortened season.

    btw – if you haven’t already, grab Francona’s book, even though you root for the opposition it would still be a good read for you.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 28, 2013 at 2:18 pm

      I will try and check that out. I always liked Francona, thought he got the bums rush in Boston.

  • blmeanie  On January 28, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    absolutely one of the best quotes:

    Manny Ramirez: There are some unbelievable Manny stories in this book. Hilarious stories that build on the already mythical legend of Manny Being Manny — like when the Cardinals accused him of stealing signs in the 2004 World Series, and Manny responded (eventually) by admitting that he didn’t even know his own team’s signs.

  • blmeanie  On January 30, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Sausage-gate! Bruins win again in sausage impaired shootout.

  • blmeanie  On January 31, 2013 at 6:42 am

    Last player for bruins to go in the shoot out- as he skates in and shoots a fan throws a sausage that evidently went behind the goalie. Refs called the do-over.

    He scored on both attempts luckily. Correct call by refs.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 31, 2013 at 11:57 am

      Considering that the game was in Boston, I think the chances are better that it was a Bruins fan trying to hit Brodeur and distract him. It’s also much easier to hit the goalie than to time the shooters arrival near the goal.

Leave a Reply

