Week 1

I know the NFL season started Thursday and that most of the Week 1 games will have been played by the time I post this, but MY season doesn’t start until 8:20PM tonight. That’s when the Giants play what I think is really a must-win game against Dallas. How can I say must-win in Week 1? Because I don’t really think the Giants have a chance to win in Week 2 and an 0-2 start is a pretty deep hole in the NFl.

But let’s leave that behind and focus instead on what the Giants season will come down to. I think it is fair to say that they have above-average talent in the playmaking department. Manning, Cruz, Nicks, Wilson, and Myers make for a very good QB, WR, RB and TE set. The offensive line is going to have to do a better job, at least based on the preseason, but this season is going to come down to the defense.

That’s where I am deeply worried. Losing Stevie Brown in the preseason was a HUGE blow. The Giants secondary was suspect to begin with and that is a blow they might not recover from. And I don’t think anyone is even close to impressed with the linebackers.

So that leaves things to the front four and that is where I think the Giants have some hope. Kiwanuka is back on the line and I think the rotation of JPP, Tuck, Kiwi and Moore is going to produce huge results. Inside Joseph and Jenkins lead a strong crew as well. Those guys have to get to the QB, or the defense is in big, big trouble.

Add it all up and I suspect we will see a lot of big scoring games ad I also think the Giants will come out ahead on nine of them. And when you look at the NFC East, I think that’s enough to win the division. Call me crazy, but I am going with it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

  • By Wild Pitch? on September 8, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    […] with the same playoff situation they entered it in. Of course my nerves are completely shot and now I have a pretty big football game to watch tonight, but that’s the bottom […]

Leave a Reply

