A Selfish Athlete?

Did you see that Carmelo Anthony wants to experience free agency this upcoming offseason? Did that surprise anyone? Of course he wants to experience free agency and I have no problem with that. My problem is that he didn’t want to “experience” free agency back in 2011.

If he had experienced free agency after the 2011 season, the Knicks wouldn’t have sent half their team to Denver to get him. Of course, by forcing that trade, Anthony got to sign a much bigger contract with the Knicks than he would have as a free agent. It was good for Anthony, but not as good for the Knicks. They got the best player in the trade, but imagine if they had been able to keep some of the players and draft picks they sent to Denver?

Now the interesting thing with Anthony and free agency this time is that the situation is reversed. If he wants the maximum money, he has to sign with the Knicks. (They can offer him about $33-million more over the life of a contact than any other team.) But, the Knicks will almost certainly not be the best place for him to win a championship.

And that’s where the Lakers come into focus. They will have cap space and most important, they are in a completely different conference than LeBron. If you are a NBA player who wants a championship you want to join Miami. If that is not possible your backup plan should be to play for a team in the West and hope that some team in the East can keep the Heat out of the Finals. (LeBron could become a free agent after this year and change all of this) That, plus the fact that L.A. is a very attractive place to play, makes me think Carmelo will be taking his talents to Hollywood after this season concludes.

But the Knicks should be smart about this. If they aren’t as good as last year (a reasonable bet) they should trade Carmelo before the trading deadline. In the NBA you don’t get any compensation if you lose a player so it makes sense to trade them before you lose them. The Knicks will know by the end of December if they have any shot at a title. If they don’t, Carmelo has to go.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On October 23, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    I believe from other conversations we’ve had that you like Carmello. I have never liked him personally or that much as a player. I think he lacks intensity and is a poster child (one of many) of what is wrong with pro athletes. I suspect you like him because he played at Syracuse.

    • nysportsfanatic  On October 24, 2013 at 7:16 am

      Let’s set aside my feeling for Carmelo and focus in on a vital question. What makes you think I like Syracuse?

  • blmeanie  On October 24, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Don’t all New Yorkers like ny schools, kinda like Boston Gus and bc?

    • nysportsfanatic  On October 24, 2013 at 9:31 pm

      Well, there are some big differences. First, Syracuse is 5 hours from NYC, not just down the road. Second, college football isn’t a big deal in NYC. (Actually, I don’t recall it being much of a big deal in Boston) Third, there are so many people from so many different schools here that allegiances are very scattered. (I walked into a bar in the village this year that was a shrine to UNH hockey of all things) When it comes to college basketball, Syracuse plays second fiddle in NYC to St. John’s. I grew up rooting for the Johnnies and while my allegiances to them have been tempered by my own school experiences, I still root for them.

      I have never liked Syracuse, in fact you could say I hate them as much as any team in college basketball. Well maybe I hate Georgetown more, but with both teams I have never been able to stomach anything about them and have always wanted to see them lose. And as with any true sports hatred, the focus of my anger has been towards the stars of those schools.

      And that’s the irony for me. The two greatest Knicks of my generation, Ewing and Melo both went to schools I can’t stand and so I have never really embraced either of them to the extent I probably should have.

Leave a Reply

