March Madness

Tomorrow and Friday are two of my absolute favorite sports days each year. They might be my two favorite. 16 games a day times two, compelling upsets, what could be better?

I’ve filled out my bracket. Let me walk you through it.

I am going with Florida to win it all. I was tempted to pick Michigan State and Arizona to win it, but I think Florida has the best chance. The one thing that scares me about my Florida pick is Andrew Wiggins. If you haven’t seen this kid play, you have missed something. He could pull a Carmelo in 2003 and lead Kansas to the title easily. A month ago I would have picked Syracuse, but they have fallen apart since that big win over Pitt and I can’t trust them.

In the East, I took UVA to make the Final Four. I think Michigan State is the best team in this bracket, but UVA has ben great the past two months. I think they have enough to carry them to the Final Four. Villanova hasn’t impressed me in the new Big East and I bet they fall somewhat early. Iowa State doesn’t do much for me either. I will let my heart override my head for a minute and say that UNC could beat anyone in this tourney- they are the only team to ever beat the preseason #1, #2, #3 and #4, but they have also lost to terrible schools. They could go to the Final Four, they could flame out in the first round. They are the riskiest pick in the field in my mind.

On the other side I love Arizona. Sure, there were some recent stumbles, but they are incredibly talented. And I think they caught a break with Wisconsin, Creighton and San Diego State rounding out the top seeds in their bracket. I just don’t see a serious challenger to them.

Finally, I go to the most intriguing bracket in my mind. I don’t think Wichita State is the real deal and I believe any of the next three seeds could easily get to Dallas. (As someone who lived in the Metroplex I refuse to call it Arlington) Michigan, Duke or Louisville are all better picks in my mind than Wichita State, but I think Louisville’s run last year will power them to another Final Four.

I expect Arizona to beat them in the semis and then lost to UF. I also expect at least one of my Final Four teams to be eliminated by Sunday night. That’s the beauty of March Madness and also the sadness. We have 48 games to gorge on over the next four days. After that, we are left with only 15.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On March 21, 2014 at 11:38 am

    First time as an adult that I can remember not filling out any brackets. Typing this is taking me longer than amount of time I have watched NCAA hoops this year.

    One and done has killed college hoops for me. Even the “best” players are mostly raw wannabes. Quality of game is greatly diminished now and don’t get excited about Cinderella teams as much anymore because the best teams they are beating are a bunch of new faces every year.

    Free agency in college hoops is worse than free agency in MLB.

    Wiggins and Parker are the only two names I know…sad. Hope the Celtics get someone good in the draft though, just wish more draftees could legally drink alcohol.

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 21, 2014 at 12:22 pm

      I agree that one and done has hurt the game, but it is still great. I’ve become more of a college fan than a NBA one over the past 10 years. I used to be a hard core hoops junkie, but the NBA has left me cold while I still love the college game.

      I just love this time of year. We have March Madness leading into Opening Day and then the Masters and the Frozen Four.

      If the Celtics get either of those guys you should be thrilled.

  • blmeanie  On March 21, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    If the Knicks reverse recent history and with Phil at the helm put out contending teams you will again be a fan of the nba. Maybe not to the Ewing days but having your team to root for and like will bring you back. Rooting for jerseys I have always found difficult, college is jersey rooting to me.

  • blmeanie  On March 21, 2014 at 2:07 pm

    yeah but that thrill is like getting excited that the ice cream place has m&ms to mix into your cone. In a little while it is gone.

  • blmeanie  On March 22, 2014 at 6:21 am

    That is a separate rant for another day, let’s just say that here there are not homemade creamery ice cream places virtually every other town like I was used to in Ma.

Leave a Reply

