Twenty Years

On May 27th, 1994, I had to move out of college. I had graduated the Saturday before and it was time to leave. I planned a drive to get down to my future wife’s house in Westchester that would get me there for game time, but fate wouldn’t let me. A prisoner escaped from Sing Sing that night and they shut the Tappan Zee Bridge. I ended up on a remote stretch of I87 listening to a crackling radio through two OT’s. I remember Howie Rose’s radio call has become a staple in New York, but few remember what came after he shouted “Matteau” multiple times. He followed it with “And the Rangers have one more hill to climb baby!”

It took twenty years, but the Rangers are facing one more hill to climb again. Those twenty years haven’t been easy. There was the lockout immediately following the 1994 win. There was the 1997 trip to the Eastern Conference Finals, but then things went really downhill. Messier left for Vancouver, the Rangers missed the playoffs for seven-straight years and hockey wiped out an entire season.

And when hockey resumed in 2005 the Rangers had a new guy between the pipes, Henrik Lundqvist. Mike Richter was a wonderful goalie, but Lundqvist is better. For nine seasons he has been the backbone of this team and now they will need him to carry them across the finish line. It’s going to be a brutal matchup, whichever team prevails in the West. I can’t wait for Wednesday night.

We want the Cup!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Greg  On May 30, 2014 at 8:53 am

    When I think of all the years that have passed . . . where did my youth go? And to think that pushing 30 seemed old back then. Now, . . . not so much! Good luck to the Rangers.

  • blmeanie  On May 30, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    If the kings prevail out west I will be rooting for them. If the Blackhawks do, I would root for the Rangers. Oddly it doesn’t seem like 20 years to me.

    I am glad they beat Montreal, just saying.

    • nysportsfanatic  On May 30, 2014 at 4:12 pm

      Wild guess- Your hatred for the Blackhawks and what they did to the Bruins last year trumps your hatred of New York, but you have no quarrel with LA?

      • Greg  On May 30, 2014 at 4:28 pm

        But LA is home to the Lakers . . . the Celtic’s greatest rival. Therefore BL *must* hate all things LA. A dilemma: whom to hate more, LA or NY? (I think we all know the answer to that one!)

      • nysportsfanatic  On May 30, 2014 at 4:33 pm

        Good point, but I bet two Giant Super Bowl championships over the Pats ruined any chance of LA being at the top of his list!

  • blmeanie  On May 30, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Hatred for a city just because of sports rivalries seems silly. Of course I can root for LA in hockey. The Kings legacy doesn’t really exist of any significance. If by chance the Heat were playing the Lakers I’d be in some serious trouble.

Leave a Reply

