Keep On Losing

Friends keep asking me if I am upset about the Knicks’ season. Some variations of this question include queries if I have become a Nets fan (NO!) , or if I am ready to give up on pro basketball (Maybe, but not because of the Knicks). As far as I am concerned, the Knicks’ season is progressing splendidly.

Coming into the season at best, and I mean absolute best, I could imagine the Knicks winning around 45 games. And if I tried incredibly hard, I could have dreamed of a first round playoff victory and a competitive loss in the second round. That was the absolute zenith for my dreams, and while it would have represented an accomplishment for the Knicks of the present, it hardly measures up to what fans really want- a championship. One we haven’t seen since 1973 and the only way the Knicks are getting close to that in the next few years is to get a great draft pick and a great free agent in the near future.

So these Knicks will help themselves by losing this year and they are doing a great job of it. While I was writing this they took over the worst record in the league and traded away two of their “better” players- JR Smith and Iman Shumpert. Without them in the lineup, the Knicks could lose 70 games. (They actually are on pace for that right now, but I thought they would rebound a bit in the second half. Now I am not so sure. But even with that, only five teams in history have lost 70 or more games.)

And now on with the horror show that is the 2014-15 Knicks.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On January 24, 2015 at 8:11 am

    Odd that two and a half teams in the same division are “all in” tear-down modes.

    I think the Celtics are ahead in rebuilding over the Knicks (competitive losing!) but so much rides on how teams draft and how lucky they get each year in the players they select.

    70 losses, that is ugly. What will turn the thinking on its head is how the Hawks are doing without any stars. The 2-3 superstar rule set in play 7 or 8 years ago has the poster child of the opposition. The Hawks are basketball version of Moneyball right now. Maybe it ends with a first or second round loss in the playoffs, we’ll see.

    • nysportsfanatic  On January 24, 2015 at 3:12 pm

      The Hawks in the playoffs will be very interesting to watch. In a way though, they are the epitome of what a basketball team should be- five guys working together that make each other better. One of the reasons I am not the NBA fan I once was is because the game has gone away from that.

      And of course the Knicks have won three-straight since I posted that. They can’t even lose right!

Leave a Reply

