TigerMania

I enjoy watching golf majors. I don’t watch week-to-week, but when a major is on I spend a big chunk of time watching it. So far this year we have had three majors, on three different networks, with one thing in common: a devotion to covering Tiger Woods that simply isn’t warranted.

It’s hard to believe, but it has now been seven years since Tiger won a major. In that span, 30 majors have been played and 21-different players have won them.Rory McIlroy has the most with four, with Bubba Watson, Jordan Speith, Martin Kaymer, Phil Mickelson, Padraig Harrington each winning two. In that timespan, Tiger has finished second once, when he blew the 54-hole lead in he PGA and in the top-10 9 times, but only three times in the last five years. He has also missed three of the last four cuts in majors that he has played in.

I have no clue if Tiger Woods is finished as a serious threat. The beauty of golf is that age is less of a handicap than in other sports. But, the calendar shows he is turning 40 this year and since 1960 only 10% of majors winners were 40 or older. It happens, especially at the Open Championship, but it doesn’t happen a lot.

Tiger may win another major, he may not, but I just wish the networks showing golf would stop treating him like the guy who dominated the sport in the early part of this century. That guy is gone. When Tiger is six-over it isn’t interesting to watch him and I would rather see other golfers get covered. Jordan Speith is 21 and just came about a foot away from making a putt that could have won him a third-straight major. Rory McIlroy is 25 and has four majors already. There are plenty of great stories out there, the networks should put the spotlight on them and only cover Tiger if his game warrants it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On July 21, 2015 at 1:57 pm

    no love lost for Tiger not competing. Sick of his arrogance. Now winners should be confident and borderline arrogance, he always went over the edge.

    He did great things for race equity in the sport but enough is enough. Plus, don’t want (and never believed) him to beat Jack’s major record. Jack was my generation’s (I’m borderline too young) golfing alpha dog.

    • nysportsfanatic  On July 21, 2015 at 4:59 pm

      You are right about the arrogance.

      I was just too young for Jack. I remember 86, but that’s about it in terms of him and majors. The thing that always struck me about him was that he finished second in 18 majors which is just amazing. I always felt that even if Tiger surpassed him in total majors, he would need to be close in terms of top-5 finishes for me to consider him better. Last I checked, Tiger finished second in four majors.

  • blmeanie  On July 21, 2015 at 4:53 pm

    this was yesterday, I forgot my “Tiger fist pump”

  • blmeanie  On July 21, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    funny story, I had a red shirt on before we left the hotel, changed for some reason, joked to my wife about it that because I was playing alone, nobody to intimidate with the red shirt

Leave a Reply

