March Madness Picks

I am a Tar Heel and that means I am very, very biased about the upcoming tournament. My heart tells me that they are going to win it all. Problem is, my head is in agreement. So, I am going to overrule  my head and make a different pick below just to try and be objective.

“Heart” Final Four- UNC, Kansas, Michigan State, Oklahoma with UNC beating Kansas in the finals.

“Head’ Final Four- Kentucky, Kansas, UVA, Oklahoma with Kansas beating UVA in the finals.

I truly believe that UNC is the best team in the country. But Kentucky is the best 4 seed in the tourney and should have been ranked higher. They could beat them.  Kansas is right there too. UVA can beat anyone and while they are getting crushed in the press for a #1 seed, they came pretty close to beating UNC last night and Malcolm Brogdon is a joy to watch. Buddy Hield is a name you will know before March is over, watch out for him and OU, I think they are far and away the best team in the West.

Thursday and Friday are two of my favorite days of the sports calendar and I will be attending Friday’s games in person. I can’t wait.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On March 14, 2016 at 11:15 am

    IMO, the tourney is past the peak, jumped the shark, on the way down slightly.

    Still compelling to many but all the years and years of one and dones has continued to make it hard to do more than root for laundry.

    It is a great exercise in laundry rooting, don’t take my comments the wrong way.

    Still looking at the field for the team with the likely consensus #1 pick, LSU…

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 14, 2016 at 11:31 am

      I think LSU is still trying to figure out how they lost by 33 points in the SEC Tournament. I wonder if a number one pick should come from a team that does that? I also think Ingram is a better player.

  • blmeanie  On March 17, 2016 at 1:33 pm

    I didn’t do any brackets this year, oh well. I do have an opinion on the final 4 though:
    Kansas
    Duke
    Kentucky
    Michigan St.

    As long as you predicted the winner I will say Kansas over Michigan St.

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 17, 2016 at 1:57 pm

      I run a pool every year and Kansas and Michigan State were the winning picks on over half of the sheets.

      I think the South (Whoops I meant West) is wide open. You could make a case for about 1/2 the teams in that bracket.

      I don’t think Kansas gets tripped up on the way to the Final Four, but Miami would be my pick to do it.

      UVA-MSU is a game I want to see.

Leave a Reply

