The Final Four

Raise your hand if you had South Carolina, Gonzaga, Oregon, and UNC as your picks. Amazingly, 657 people did in the ESPN brackets. Sure, that’s out of 18.5-million, but it still seems high to me.

Thats how unlikely this Final Four is. Two teams that have never been there, one team that hasn’t been there since 1939 and the team that has been there a record 20-times. Once again, the conventional wisdom was very, very wrong. The East was going to be a battle of Duke vs. Villanova. The West would see Gonzaga picked off early. Oregon couldn’t possibly go to the Final Four after suffering a big injury in the PAC-12 tournament. Kentucky or UCLA would cut down the nets in the South.

It wasn’t what we thought it would be, but it should be a great Final Four. I think we will have a South Carolina-North Carolina Final which should include a side bet that the winning state forever is known only as “Carolina” and the losing state has to keep the directional part of their name. (That is quite a big deal down there almost as much as which state has the better BBQ)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • blmeanie  On March 28, 2017 at 6:07 pm

    I’m solidly in 2nd place in my group I am in, yet have no more points coming my way. Guess I won’t be winning my group pool

    • nysportsfanatic  On March 28, 2017 at 10:44 pm

      I could win my pool, but I need a few things to happen

      1- UNC wins it all
      2- Gonzaga doesn’t make the final
      3- Total game score is 141 points or less

      Otherwise, I would lose the pool, to my wife. And I would never hear the end of it.

      • Greg  On March 29, 2017 at 7:36 am

        Yes, but if you win, you’ll never hear the end of it either. Classic no-win situation, actually. What were you thinking, betting against your own wife?!?

      • nysportsfanatic  On March 29, 2017 at 11:55 am

        Total freak occurrence. There were 90 entries and if things fall the way I described them the two of us just happen to be the pair it comes down to.

        And if I win, I can always give her the prize since I will be thrilled about the result. That may be a way for me to “win”.

  • blmeanie  On March 29, 2017 at 3:48 pm

    kind of a participation trophy for her though

Leave a Reply

